People

CICR Executive Committee

Dr. Laura German

Dr. Laura German

CICR Director / Professor

Department of Anthropology
Website
lgerman@uga.edu

 

Dr. Pete Brosius

Dr. Pete Brosius

CICR Founder / Professor

Department of Anthropology
Website
pbrosius@uga.edu

Dr. Jesse Abrams

Dr. Jesse Abrams

Associate Professor

Warnell School of Forestry & Natural Resources
Website
jesse.abrams@uga.edu

 

Tyra Byers

Tyra Byers

Sustainability Certificate Director

Odum School of Ecology
Website
tyrab@uga.edu
Dr. Sonia Hernandez

Dr. Sonia Hernandez

Professor / ICON Grad Coordinator

Warnell School of Forestry & Natural Resources
College of Veterinary Medicine
Website
shernz@uga.edu

 

Dr. Charles Hopkinson

Dr. Charles Hopkinson

Professor Emeritus

Department of Marine Sciences
Website
chopkins@uga.edu
Dr. Lizzie King

Dr. Lizzie King

Associate Professor

Warnell School of Forestry & Natural Resources
Odum School of Ecology
Website
egking@uga.edu

Dr. Marguerite Madden

Dr. Marguerite Madden

Professor / Director of the Center for Geospatial Research

Department of Geography
Website
mmadden@uga.edu

Dr. Roberta Salmi

Dr. Roberta Salmi

Assistant Professor

Department of Anthropology
Website
rsalmi@uga.edu

Dr. Jennifer Jo Thompson

Dr. Jennifer Jo Thompson

Associate Research Scientist

Department of Crop and Soil Sciences
Website
jjthomp@uga.edu

Dr. Seth Wenger

Dr. Seth Wenger

Associate Professor / Director for Science, River Basin Center

Odum School of Ecology
Website
swenger@uga.edu

Dr. Brock Woodson

Dr. Brock Woodson

Associate Professor

College of Engineering
Website
bwoodson@uga.edu

ICON Governance

Dr. Jesse Abrams

Dr. Jesse Abrams

ICON Program Committee

Warnell School of Forestry & Natural Resources
Website
jesse.abrams@uga.edu

 

Dr. Pete Brosius

Dr. Pete Brosius

ICON Program Committee

Department of Anthropology
Website
pbrosius@uga.edu

 

Dr. Krista Capps

Dr. Krista Capps

ICON Graduate Affairs Committee

Odum School of Ecology
Website
kcapps@uga.edu

Dr. Laura German

Dr. Laura German

ICON Program Committee

Department of Anthropology
Website
lgerman@uga.edu

Dr. Ted Gragson

Dr. Ted Gragson

ICON Program Committee

Department of Anthropology
Website
tgragson@uga.edu

Dr. Jeff Hepinstall-Cymerman

Dr. Jeff Hepinstall-Cymerman

ICON Program Committee / ICON Graduate Affairs Committee

Warnell School of Forestry & Natural Resources
Website
jhepinstall@warnell.uga.edu

Dr. Sonia Hernandez

Dr. Sonia Hernandez

ICON Program Committee / ICON Graduate Affairs Committee

Warnell School of Forestry & Natural Resources
Website
shernz@uga.edu

Dr. Charles Hopkinson

Dr. Charles Hopkinson

ICON Graduate Affairs Committee

Department of Marine Sciences
Website
chopkins@uga.edu

Dr. Lizzie King

Dr. Lizzie King

ICON Program Committee

Warnell School of Forestry & Natural Resources / Odum School of Ecology
Website
egking@uga.edu

Dr. Deepak Mishra

Dr. Deepak Mishra

ICON Graduate Affairs Committee

Department of Geography
Website
dmishra@uga.edu

Dr. Roberta Salmi

Dr. Roberta Salmi

ICON Graduate Affairs Committee

Department of Anthropology
Website
rsalmi@uga.edu

Dr. Seth Wenger

Dr. Seth Wenger

ICON Program Committee

Odum School of Ecology
Website
swenger@uga.edu

Dr. Meredith Welch-Devine

Dr. Meredith Welch-Devine

ICON Program Committee

Department of Anthropology / Graduate School
Website
mwdevine@uga.edu 

CICR External Advisory Board

Sara J. Gottlieb

Sara J. Gottlieb

Southern Appalachians Freshwater Director,
North America Eastern Division Franchise Co-Lead for the Conservation Coaches Network,
Co-Lead of the Georgia Aquatic Connectivity Team
The Nature Conservancy
Website

Dr. Fiorenza Micheli

Dr. Fiorenza Micheli

David and Lucile Packard Professor of Marine Science, Oceans Department, 
Co-director, Center for Ocean Solutions,
Senior Fellow at Woods Institute for the Environment
Stanford University 
Website

Dr. Sherry Pictou

Dr. Sherry Pictou

Honorary District Chief, Confederacy of Mainland Mi’kmaq, 
Tier 2 Canada Research Chair: Indigenous Governance, 
Assistant Professor, Schulich School of Law
Dalhousie University 
Website

CICR Faculty Affiliates

Last name First name Unit Email
Abrams Jesse Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources jesse.abrams@uga.edu
Alber Merryl Department of Marine Sciences malber@uga.edu
Altizer Sonia Odum School of Ecology saltizer@uga.edu
Beasley Jim Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources; Savannah River Ecology Lab beasley@srel.uga.edu
Birch Suzanne Pilaar Departments of Anthropology and Geography sepbirch@uga.edu
Bledsoe Brian School of Environmental and Mechanical Engineering bbledsoe@uga.edu
Boley Bynum Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources bboley@uga.edu
Boudreau Maric Department of Management Information Systems mcboudre@uga.edu
Bringolf Robert Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources bringo@uga.edu
Brosius Pete Department of Anthropology pbrosius@uga.edu
Byers Jeb Odum School of Ecology jebyers@uga.edu
Byers Tyra Office of Sustainability tyrab@uga.edu
Calabria Jon College of Environment and Design jcalabr@uga.edu
Callahan Mark UGA Arts Collaborative mark.callahan@uga.edu
Capps Krista Odum School of Ecology; Savannah River Ecology Laboratory kcapps@uga.edu
Carswell Ben Carl Vinson Institute of Government bcars@uga.edu
Connelly Scott Odum School of Ecology scottcon@uga.edu
Dwivedi Puneet Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources puneetd@uga.edu
Ferreira Susana College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences sferreir@uga.edu
German Laura Department of Anthropology lgerman@uga.edu
Gottdenker Nicole Department of Pathology gottdenk@uga.edu
Gragson  Theodore  Department of Anthropology tgragson@uga.edu
Green  Gary  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources gtgreen@uga.edu
Harper Anna Department of Geography a.harper@uga.edu
Hashida  Yukiko  Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics yhashida@uga.edu
Hepinstall Cymerman  Jeffrey  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources jhepinst@uga.edu
Herles Cecilia Institute for Women's Studies cherles@uga.edu
Hernandez  Sonia  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources; Southeastern Cooperative Wildlife Disease Study shernz@uga.edu
Heynen  Nik  Department of Geography nheynen@uga.edu
Hitchner  Sarah L.  Department of Anthropology (Adjunct) slhitchn@uga.edu
Holloway  Steven  Department of Geography holloway@uga.edu
Hopkinson  Charles  Department of Marine Sciences chopkins@uga.edu
Hunter Mark Odum School of Ecology mdhunter@uga.edu
Irwin  Brian  Georgia Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit; Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources irwin@uga.edu
Jambeck  Jenna  College of Engineering jjambeck@uga.edu
King  Elizabeth Odum School of Ecology; Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources egking@uga.edu
Lance Stacey Savannah River Ecology Laboratory lance@srel.uga.edu
Lapegna  Pablo  Department of Sociology and Latin American and Caribbean Studies plapegna@uga.edu
Leigh  David  Department of Geography dleigh@uga.edu
Madden  Marguerite  Department of Geography mmadden@uga.edu
Maerz  John  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources jcmaerz@uga.edu
Magnan  Nicholas  College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences nmagnan@uga.edu
Markewitz  Daniel  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources dmarke@uga.edu
Marshall  Michael  School of Art mmars@uga.edu
McCullough  Ellen  Agricultural & Applied Economics emccullough@uga.edu
McKay  Kyle  U.S. Army Corps of Engineers skmckay@uga.edu
Merino Roger Universidad del Pacífico ra.merinoa@up.edu.pe
Mishra  Deepak  Department of Geography dmishra@uga.edu
Moore  Clint  Georgia Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit; Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources cmoore@warnell.uga.edu
Mullen  Jeffrey  College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences jmullen@uga.edu
Nelson  Donald  Department of Anthropology dnelson@uga.edu
Newcomer  Quint  Architectural Collaborative LLC quintcostarica@gmail.com
Nibbelink  Nathan  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources nate2@uga.edu
Orford  Adam  School of Law adam.orford@uga.edu
Orland  Brian  College of Environment and Design (Retired) brianorland2@gmail.com
Osenberg  Craig Odum School of Ecology osenberg@uga.edu
Paterson  Andrew  College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences paterson@uga.edu
Porinchu  David  Department of Geography porinchu@uga.edu
Pringle  Catherine  Odum School of Ecology (Retired) cpringle@uga.edu
Rice  Jennifer  Department of Geography jlrice@uga.edu
Rivero  Rosanna  College of Environment and Design rrivero@uga.edu
Robertson Boakai K Alabama State University brobertson@alasu.edu
Robinson Kelly Georgia Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit; Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources kfrobinson@uga.edu
Rosemond  Amy  Odum School of Ecology rosemond@uga.edu
Salmi  Roberta  Department of Anthropology rsalmi@uga.edu
Santiago-Collazo Felix College of Engineering fsantiago@uga.edu
Sarmiento  Fausto  Department of Geography fsarmien@uga.edu
Schelhas  John  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources (Adjunct); USDA Forest Service john.schelhas@usda.gov
Schmidt    JP Odum School of Ecology jps@uga.edu
Shepherd  Marshall  Department of Geography marshgeo@uga.edu
Struthers Cory  Evans School of Public Policy and Governance, University of Washington cstruth@uw.edu
Tarrant  Michael  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources tarrant@uga.edu
Thompson  Jennifer  College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; Department of Anthropology jjthomp@uga.edu
Trapnell  Dorset  Department of Plant Biology dorset@uga.edu
Tucker Bram Department of Anthropology bramtuck@uga.edu
Vallury Sechindra Odum School of Ecology sechindra.vallury@uga.edu
van Rees Charles Odum School of Ecology charles.vanrees@uga.edu
Welch-Devine  Meredith  Graduate School mwdevine@uga.edu
Wenger  Seth  Odum School of Ecology swenger@uga.edu
Woodson  Brock  College of Engineering bwoodson@uga.edu

ICON Students

Last First Unit Advisor Email Pronouns More information
Arney  Rachel  Department of Geography Dr. Jennifer Rice Rachel.Arney@uga.edu She/her Link
Balling  Courtney  Department of Geography Drs. Marguerite Madden and Mark Risse Courtney.Balling25@uga.edu
Boone Hannah Department of Anthropology Dr. Meredith Welch-Devine hannah.boone@uga.edu
Britton  Justice  Department of Anthropology Dr. Bram Tucker jeb94141@uga.edu
Chinnannan Balasubramanian  Kanchana  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources Dr. Puneet Dwivedi kanchana.cb@uga.edu She/her Link
Crespo  Christina  Department of Anthropology Drs. Patricia Richards and Ted Gragson christina.crespo25@uga.edu
Crispell Evan Department of Anthropology Dr. Peter Brosius Evan.Crispell@uga.edu
Del Toro Orozco Wezddy  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources Dr. Nate Nibbelink wezddy.deltoro@uga.edu She/her/hers Link
Gambill  Jill  Department of Geography Dr. Nik Heynen jgambill@uga.edu
Gill Kristie Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources Drs. Nate Nibbelink and Elizabeth Pienarr k.gill@uga.edu
Giri Monika Department of Anthropology Dr. Don Nelson mg39394@uga.edu
Gregory Kaili Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources Dr. Kelly Robinson k.gregory@uga.edu
Gujarathi-Talati Sameera  Odum School of Ecology Drs. Seth Wenger and Susana Ferreira sameera5@uga.edu She/her
Hofner  Alexandra  Department of Anthropology Dr. Roberta Salmi a.hofner@uga.edu
Iyer Bhavya Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources Dr. Jeff Hepinstall-Cymerman bhavyaiyer@uga.edu
Joseph Eileen Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources Dr. Jesse Abrams eileen.joseph@uga.edu
Julien  Asa  Department of Geography Dr. Deepak Mishra asajulien@uga.edu
Kaur Ravneet Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources Dr. Jesse Abrams ravneetkaur@uga.edu
Kaushik  Amit  Department of Anthropology Dr. Peter Brosius amitkaushik@uga.edu He/him/his Link
Kumar  Suneel  Department of Anthropology Dr. Laura German suneel.kumar@uga.edu
Langhorn  Gabrielle  Department of Anthropology Dr. Don Nelson Gabrielle.Langhorn@uga.edu
Mohanachandran Janaki Department of Anthropology Dr. Don Nelson Janaki.M@uga.edu She/her Link
Matos  Mariana  Department of Anthropology Dr. Roberta Salmi mariana.dpmatos@uga.edu She/her Link
Mital  Anuja  Odum School of Ecology Drs. Krista Capps and John Maerz anujamital@uga.edu She/her Link
Morris  Hannah  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources Dr. Elizabeth King hanboo28@uga.edu
Morrow  Kristen  Department of Anthropology Dr. Roberta Salmi ksmorrow@uga.edu She/her Link
Najera Jesus Alejandro Department of Anthropology Dr. Don Nelson alejandro.najera@uga.edu
Navis  Corrie  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources Dr. John Maerz Corrie.Navis@uga.edu She/her Link
Park  Shinyeong  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources Drs. Jesse Abrams and James Beasley shiny.park@uga.edu She/her/hers
Paul  Andrew  Department of Anthropology Dr. Peter Brosius apaul86@uga.edu He/him Link
Pitts Aoife Kate Department of Anthropology Dr. Peter Brosius aoife.pitts@uga.edu She/her Link
Quan  Alyssa  Odum School of Ecology Dr. Catherine Pringle quaniam@uga.edu
Rao  Shishir  Odum School of Ecology Dr. Seth Wenger shishir.rao@uga.edu He/him Link
Sandeelo  Asif Ali  Department of Anthropology Dr. Laura German asif.sandeelo@uga.edu He/him/his
Sarkar Aharna Department of Geography Dr. David Porinchu aharna.sarkar@uga.edu
Sharma  Akanksha  Department of Geography Dr. Deepak Mishra akanksha.sharma@uga.edu She/They Link
Tatz Matthew Odum School of Ecology Drs. Sonia Hernandez and Stacey Lance matthew.tatz@uga.edu He/him Link
Torres  Patty  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources Dr. Michael Yabsley patricia.torres@uga.edu She/her
Ubiali  Bruno  Department of Anthropology Dr. Don Nelson bruno.ubiali@uga.edu He/him Link
Usman Ummuqulthum Department of Geography Dr. Anna Harper usman.un@uga.edu
Uniyal Nancee Department of Geography Dr. Deepak Mishra nanceeuniyal@uga.edu
Valentine Dominique Department of Anthropology Dr. Peter Brosius Dominique.Valentine@uga.edu

ICON Alumni

Last name First name Unit Graduation year
Abbasnezhad  Behnoosh  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2024
Allen  Karen  Department of Anthropology 2016 
Beauvais Jeff Odum School of Ecology 2023
Bloodgood  Jennifer  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2016 
Bonney Baumgardner  Shannon  Odum School of Ecology 2019 
Bozeman  Bryan  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2022
Brownson  Katherine  Odum School of Ecology 2019 
Chappell  Jessica  Odum School of Ecology 2019 
Clause  Adam  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2018 
Cox  Cody  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2022
Crawford  Brian  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2016 
Cross Denzell Odum School of Ecology 2024
de Jesús Crespo  Rebeca  Odum School of Ecology 2015 
DeMoss  Jennifer  Department of Anthropology 2019 
DePuy Walker Department of Anthropology 2021
Evans  Michelle  Odum School of Ecology 2020 
Foster Katie Department of Anthropology 2023
Fragomeni  Mariana  Department of Geography 2019 
Gancos Crawford Tara Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2023
Guy  Rachel  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2018 
Hallemeier Jon Department of Anthropology 2021
Hardy  Dean  Department of Geography 2016 
Hecht David Department of Anthropology 2022
Heisel  Sara  Odum School of Ecology 2019 
Hohbein  Rhianna  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2021 
Horsley  Sarah  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2020 
Horton  Emily Y.  Department of Anthropology 2020 
Howard  Jillian  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2018 
Hsiung  Angela  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2022
Kosen Linda Department of Anthropology 2022
Lear  Kristen  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2020 
McGreevy  John  Department of Anthropology 2022
Mertzlufft  Caitlin  Department of Geography 2020 
Miles  Micah  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2021 
Nelson Alec Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2023
Padgett-Vasquez  Steve  Department of Geography 2019 
Parker  Lowery  Department of Geography 2017 
Rasquinha  Dina  Department of Geography 2022
Rodriguez-Granados  Rocio  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2016 
Rojas-Jiménez  Jorge Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2024
Seigerman  Cydney  Department of Anthropology 2024
Shaw  Alana  Department of Geography 2016 
Unks  Ryan  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2017 
Upadhaya  Suraj  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2019 
Van Sant  Levi  Department of Geography 2016 
Vercoe  Richard  Department of Geography 2021 
Will  Rachel  Department of Geography 2019 
Yeager  Emily  Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources 2018